For over 90 years Koronis Ministries (formerly Lake Koronis Assembly Grounds) has hosted countless eager visitors. The formation of the grounds was first approved during the annual Minnesota Evangelical Church conference in 1921. Just a year later LKAG welcomed guests after its first two buildings, the tabernacle and Lakeview dormitory, had been constructed. The grounds, composed of 190 acres of trees, trails, grasslands and lakeshore, are a Minnesota United Methodist Historical Site.
Click here for more photos of Koronis Ministries.
1921: 14 acres along Lake Koronis are purchased by the Evangelical Church for its assembly grounds
1922: The Tabernacle and Lakeview Dormitory is erected; first summer assembly held
1936-1937: Hillside Dormitory is built for $6,216; the white chapel is built for $2,176
1946: The Evangelical United Brethren Church is formed and continues governance of LKAG
1954: 40 acres for Camp Koronis (children’s summer camping) are purchased for $1,900;
the lodge at Camp Koronis is built for $9,300
1960: Family camping begins at Lake Koronis Assembly Grounds
1963: The camp's dining room is remodeled
1968: The United Methodist Church is formed and continues governance of LKAG
1971: 50th anniversary celebration
1974: LKAG is approved as an accredited site by the American Camping Association
1975: Retreat Center is built for year-round retreats and conferences
1982: The Tabernacle is remodeled and the iconic window installed
1985: LKAG purchases former KOAC land and adjoining property,
bringing the total acreage to 200
1997: 75th anniversary celebration
1998: A new indoor recreation building is constructed
2003: A new retreat lodge is added, providing 19 more winterized rooms.
It is the first new housing built since the Retreat Center
2006: Lake Koronis Assembly Grounds changes its name to Koronis Conference & Retreat Center